Doctor John Smith's Cottage (Reference: 215514)

Add a Review

Average scores

Overall Score
(19 reviews)
Location
Accommodation
Holiday Experience

Please note that the reviews posted on Stilwell’s Cottages Direct are the opinions of customers who have stated that they have visited this property. In some instances you will also see a response from the owner of the property. None of these are the opinion of Stilwell’s Cottages Direct and Stilwell’s Cottages Direct is not liable or responsible for the contents of any review or response.


Quirky nostalgia

Date of stay: September 2016

Stayed the last w/e in Sept. Lovely comfy cottage with a twist. Pure nostalgia for those of us who go way back with Dr Who & a real adventure for youngsters. Lovingly furnished to suit the age of the cottage, but not lacking in mod-cons. For cooks, the range is superb. For anyone who loves to read, there are some great Dr Who books & two very nice fire-side chairs to settle into. The RHDR is great fun, whatever your age & Rye is pretty - lots of pubs & unique shops.

Review by: Jan & Brian

Lovely cottage and terrific barn would definitely go again

Date of stay: February 2016

We had a lovely time in the cottage. Our teenage son and his friend stayed in the barn and loved their independence - rather envious of the dalek. The cottage was lovely and welcoming with everyone well catered for. The weather was awful but made no difference as we could have easily stayed indoors all weekend. Would highly recommend to anyone with a penchant for Dr Who or people with teenage children - it was just perfect.

Review by: Kim Goodwright

Great base for exploring

Date of stay: September 2015

A perfect base to explore this lovely corner of Kent, we enjoyed a day out on the RH&D railway, exploring the various towns on the line, also handily placed for visiting Rye and Camber. The Battle of Britain museum near Folkestone was fascinating, with exhibits telling the stories of those involved.
The cottage is charming and comfortable and the collection of Dr Who items is well presented in a separate cottage.
Local shops in easy walking distance
Loved our stay and we will be back

Review by: Ian and Sally

We wished the time machine worked so we could stay longer...

Date of stay: August 2015

This is a charming, character cottage which comfortably absorbed 3 adults and 2 teenagers. A lot of thought and taste has gone into the furnishing and amenities - everything we needed was tucked away somewhere! Even without the wonderful Dr Who collection it would be a great place to stay. Lydd itself is really well provided with places to eat and a well stocked Spar and is a good base to explore the area. We are definitely planning to return!

Review by: Hood Family

Great cottage in a great location!

Date of stay: June 2014

The cottage was everything promised and more. We really enjoyed watching Dr Who each night after a day of exploring the area. The tourist information provided in the cottage was really helpful in deciding where to go next and there are some really great pubs close by. The local pizza place was an unexpected bonus for our teenagers!

Review by: Jim

Great place even if not a huge Dr Who fan!

Date of stay: June 2013

Had a great long weekend at Dr John Smiths Cottage, found the cottage to be very comfy. It was quite charming, olde worlde but with modern comforts too such as dishwasher and very good central heating (required despite it being June!) Slept like a dream in a comfy bed with linen bedding. Its a great location for the area with lots of suprises to discover, Rye was brilliant good eating and drinking venues. Have stayed in many holiday cottages and we would rate this as one of the best.

Review by: Henry and Dawn Staples

Something for all the family

Date of stay: May 2013

We felt so comfortable as soon as we walked through the door. The beautiful cottage is truly cosy and the bedrooms all have the comfiest beds ever. Our twins were delighted with the adventure of staying in the Apple Barn with both a dalek and K9 for company. Well worth a longer visit as we didn't see too much of the surrounding area but Battle and Rye were reasonably close by and both adults and children enjoyed the day trips out.

Review by: Julie Jackson

Just needs some TLC

Date of stay: April 2013

Although we had a great weekend at the cottage I was disappointed with the standard of some of the accommodation. Most of the blinds in the main house and the Apple Barn need replacing.
The shower room in the Apple Barn is badly in need of a deep clean and a replacement shower curtain but more importantly the water to the shower never got hot as there appeared to be a fault with the boiler. It wasn't all bad though the bedrooms were very comfortable and very clean.Could be really lovely.

Review by: Irene Bennett
Owner Response

As the only negative review of the cottage we have received has been from you, I feel I should respond. The kitchen blinds are new - and we are working through a programme of replacement. The problem with the boiler in the apple barn had been difficult to deal with as it was an intermittent fault, it has now been replaced with a brand new boiler. The shower curtain was only a year old, the problem you identified was caused by its length and it has been replaced.


Comfort, character AND good taste!

Date of stay: March 2013

A group of us aged 15-74 had a great 3 days here - and it wasn't long enough! We had a big Who-fest of course, but apart from that we enjoyed the very comfortable and beautifully put together cottage - it was lovely to stay somewhere with character AND good taste. (Never thought I would covet someone else's stove!) Celebrated my big brother's 50th by dressing up as daleks and cybermen, immersing ourselves in boxsets of the Pertwee/Tom Baker era and walking on Camber sands - a happy time.

Review by: Sarah Lindsay

Quirky cosy cottage with TARDIS & Dalek - perfect Geek Retreat for Dr Who Fans!

Date of stay: October 2012

Lovely cosy cottage full of Dr Who memorabilia. Our teenage boys loved sleeping in the Apple Barn with the Dalek! We even spent a whole day in just so we could watch the early Dr Who episodes! Lydd itself isn't that exciting but it's a good base to explore from. Would love to stay again in the summer!

Review by: Amanda

A Delightful Place to Stay

Date of stay: October 2012

OK I'm a Dr Who fan so this place won me over without doubt. And if you are a Whovian you WILL be impressed by the collection that is available for you to enjoy during your visit.

My sister and I took our elderly parents and they were very comfortable, the kitchen is great to use if you like cooking.

If you have young children what a FANTASTIC time they will have staying in the Apple Barn, if only I could have brought my sons here when they were young.

Best pubs are Royal Oak and Royal

Review by: Martin Walker

A Beautiful cottage and a great base to explore Kent

Date of stay: August 2012

A very homely cottage with a separate Apple Barn which is full of Dr Who memorabilla. Great for Dr Who fans, which my son is. He did not want to leave the Apple Barn during our stay. I would recommend this cottage. Easy access to many beaches and historical places of interest. FANTASTIC.

Review by: Jezzard

Perfect location for expolring the area

Date of stay: August 2012

Lovely cottage - much appreciated the cake on arrival! Very cosy and well equipt. Very approachable owner. Although Lydd itself did not have too much to offer (apart from being a good place to go out running and several pubs!) there is so much to do in the surrounding areas. We visitied Bodium Castle, took the RHD miniature railway to Dungeness, spent time at Camber Sands beach, enjoyed a day in Hastings, pestered by seagulls when having our picnic! We will be back...

Review by: Susan Williams

A Fantastic Family Holiday

Date of stay: August 2012

The Dr John Smith Cottage was a fascinating and homely place to stay. Our six year old completely loved it. The Doctor Who theme isn't over done, the artifacts blend in with the old world charm of the cottage. The surrounding area is abundant with beautiful beaches and places to visit, we had a wonderful family holiday. We all want to return. A fantastic yet comfortable and well equipped place to stay.

Review by: maria gavin

wonderful

Date of stay: June 2012

Gorgeous cottage very homely and comfortable with everything you need and more. I cant think of anywhere i have stayed where u could make a brew on arrival as tea and coffee were complientary. Loved all the little homely touches. Extremely comfy beds. Enjoyed breakfast in the courtyard while watching our feathered friends. First class accomadation will be back for certain.

Review by: diane

Well Equipped cottage, wonderful stay!

Date of stay: August 2011

We had a lovely long weekend in this cottage, everything you may need (except groceries) is on hand, helpful tourist information in the file. Lovely garden to BBQ, Overall great stay! would definately recommend!

Review by: Victoria

Such a great place to stay, you almost want to keep it to yourself.

Date of stay: June 2011

As it happens, I'm a lifelong 'Who' fan, as is my son who joined us for a couple of nights. My wife, not quite so much! The point is, you don't HAVE to be a fan to enjoy the amazing delights of this cottage. But I'm sure it helps!

If you've always dreamt of owning your own TARDIS, or having supper with a Dalek, then is is SO for you.

We weren't quite as keen on the area, but still enjoyed ourselves, esp our day on the RHD Railway.

But shhh - don't tell. Keep this cottage secret !

Review by: Hawkera

Relaxing,entertaining and welcoming accomadation

Date of stay: April 2011

Attention, thought and detail has been put into this outstanding accomodation. Its quirky and fun not least if you are a Dr who fan. Be prepared to be wowed by props and collections and enjoy its historic location.

Review by: Scarfe family

Perfect for the Whovian

Date of stay: February 2011

A moderately sized, charming cottage, stuffed with Doctor Who memorabilia. My wife and I spent a lovely week here, and I was a nerd pig in geek excrement. DVDs, books, board games, decoration. Doctor-tastic.

The cottage is right on a quiet road, but if you're not used to it, cars and chatting pedestrians right outside the window can be disconcerting. The town is fine without being exciting, but there are some lovely areas just a short drive away.

Review by: Steve O

Add a review

Thank you for choosing to add a review about Doctor John Smith's Cottage, we value your feedback.

Please note that we only accept reviews from people who have stayed at this property and your review must be true and must be based on your own experience. Please do not quote from other sources or on behalf of any third party.

By submitting your review you agree and confirm that your review:-

  • will be true and fair;
  • will not contain any content that is indecent, obscene or unlawful;
  • will comply with all applicable laws;
  • will not contain any defamatory, false, misleading or untrue content or any content which is abusive, threatening or offensive;
  • will not advertise or publicise any third party;
  • will not be published for payment;
  • will not contain any content which belongs to any third party

We reserve the right to remove, amend, comment on, or correct any reviews at our discretion including any that we suspect are fraudulent, contain threats, use bad language or are inappropriate in any way.

You grant Stilwell’s Cottages Direct an exclusive, world-wide right to use, broadcast, reproduce and publicly display your review (or any part of it). We may also allow third parties to use and display the review (at our discretion). You confirm that you have the right to grant such licence to us;

Owners will have the right to respond to your review.

Please complete the following.

*

*

*

Date of Stay   *

Ratings
Accommodation
Location
Holiday Experience

*

(max 500 characters) *

Anti-Spam Check Please specify the time in the drop downs as displayed on the clock.
Anti Spam Clock (Black hand)
(Red hand)

/ /    *

We would like to tell you about our own products and services that we think will be of interest to you. We may do so by post, telephone, SMS or email.

Please note, we will never pass your contact details to companies outside our group for marketing purposes and will always offer the option to unsubscribe from marketing communications at any time. Personal data you supply will be treated in accordance with the Data Protection Act 1999.

Please read the Privacy Policy on our website if you require further information about data protection.

Submit Review