The Steading Cottage St Andrews (Reference: 700775/1)

Add a Review

Average scores

Overall Score
(39 reviews)
Location
Accommodation
Holiday Experience

Please note that the reviews posted on Stilwell’s Cottages Direct are the opinions of customers who have stated that they have visited this property. In some instances you will also see a response from the owner of the property. None of these are the opinion of Stilwell’s Cottages Direct and Stilwell’s Cottages Direct is not liable or responsible for the contents of any review or response.


Wonderful accomodation

Date of stay: March 2017

We rented Steading Cottage while visiting our daughter who is a post grad student at the University of St Andrews. The cottage had everything we needed and was in a beautiful setting. Super comfortable beds and a large bathroom were a plus. Should we return to ST Andrews we would definitely stay here again.

Review by: CHERYL CARLSON
Owner Response

Thanks for your kind review Cheryl and Rick. You are more than welcome to visit with us, any time. Glad you had such a wonderful week in the Kingdom of Fife and that you enjoyed your stay in the Steading Cottage.


Wonderful break at fantastic cottage

Date of stay: February 2017

As a family we all enjoyed our stay at the cottage. It was very well equipped, great facilities wifi etc and a great location. Lovely private walled garden with bbq facilites which would be great in the summer. John is very friendly and explained everything that was needed to know. The little extras were great and much appreciated. A very short walk to local store and a great tasting takeaway pizza (thanks for the recommendation John!!) Overall a fantastic place to stay and would highly recommen

Review by: HUNTER FAMILY
Owner Response

Thanks for the great review Jo.
Glad you and the family enjoyed your stay with us.
Remember and contact me direct the next time you want to visit for a returning customer reduction.


Excellent

Date of stay: October 2016

John & ruby are running an excellent property for holiday rentals really enjoyed our stay excellent cottage and all equipment you need lovely atmosphere in the cottage relaxing environment and location close to standrews good facilities in the village all in all excellent place to stay home from home thanks for our a lovely stay and also John was understanding of our family who made a late visit to stay

Review by: Karen and Colin
Owner Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome back any time.

John 7 Ruby


Home from Home

Date of stay: April 2016

Stayed at Steading Cottage with my son on a golfing trip to St Andrews. The accommodation was outstanding. Very clean, very comfortable and a most enjoyable stay. We recommend this property and we hope to return again some time. Thanks John and Ruby, great hosts.

Review by: Exceeded our expectations. Wonderful cottage.
Owner Response

Thank you for the wonderful review Ian. Glad you and your son enjoyed your stay with us. More than welcome to visit with us again.

John & Ruby


Awesome

Date of stay: March 2016

I can't fault this cottage, very luxurious lacks nothing, and the owners are wonderful. Well situated to most things, we would happily stay again

Review by: Mrs Sharon Tilbee

Perfect get away

Date of stay: October 2015

Can't praise the cottage highly enough. For our needs it was just perfect and offered such welcoming and cosy accommodation and all to the highest standards. John and Ruby were great hosts, and could not do enough to help us. Thanks again for making our Scottish break such a wonderful experience. We hope to see you again at Easter time.

Review by: Andy and Karen Daykin

October holiday

Date of stay: October 2015

Very well equiped and comfortable cottage Excellent communication from John before and during our stay
Easy access to beach few miles away - you need to take x 2 pound coins for parking, but well worth the charge Excellent linens and towels provided The garden is also lovely although we were not able to sit in it due to busy week and some rain ! Thank you for goodies to welcome us

Review by: Mark and Isobel Warren
Owner Response

Thanks for the lovely review and glad that you enjoyed the cottage. It was a pleasure having you both and you are more than welcome to visit with us again in the future. October can be a little rainy at times but hopefully you will have a chance to use the garden next time.


perfect location and fantastic accommodation

Date of stay: October 2015

Just home from the steadings cottage Lechars, and would like to thankJohn for going above and beyond!! Three generations were well catered for, so can recommend for all ages. Situated perfectly to be as relaxing or as active as you please.The cottage is first rate,immaculately clean extremely comfortable, very tastefully appointed cosy and also practical.Did I mention the beds? Ahhh perfect! We were very lucky with the weather but with digs like this who cares, so thanks again guys.Bruce & co

Review by: bruce and carol
Owner Response

Your response: Thanks for your great review Bruce and Carol. Glad you had such a wonderful week in the Kingdom of Fife and that you enjoyed your stay in our Cottage. Your family and Kiera are more than welcome to visit with us, any time.

John & Ruby


super dog friendly cottage

Date of stay: September 2015

we have just spent a wonderful week at this beautiful cottage.the 29 previous reviews were spot on.john was very friendly and helpful.the welcome pack waiting for us was very welcome.paddy and murphy enjoyed the chew sticks.the enclosed garden was ideal for our dogs.we have been using holiday cottages for 22 years and this is one of the best we have stayed in.tensmuir forest and beach is well worth a visit.
ken and sue and paddy and murphy
Stockton on tees.

Review by: kenneth marr
Owner Response

Thank you Ken &Sue for the great review. Glad you and the boys had a nice time and loved our cottage. Hope to see you again in the future

John & Ruby


return visit just as good

Date of stay: September 2015

Just got home from a lovely week at the steadings. This really is a delightful cottage, the owners are very hospitable - even a pack of dog chews there for our dog. The cottage was spotlessly clean upon arrival & is very comfortable, the garden is beautiful & secure so ideal for dogs. This was our 2nd visit & im sure it wont be long before we go back.

Review by: dawn & brian sunderland

Awesome Holiday

Date of stay: August 2015

Thank you John and Ruby for the perfect week in Scotland. Lovely location, still cant get over finding a forest right beside a beach!! The accommodation was amazing we loved it! everything we needed to enjoy and relax Also a big thanks for the welcoming gifts

Review by: Nicky and Rob badham

First Class accommodation

Date of stay: August 2015

This is a beautifully clean and welcoming cottage, our two dogs loved the garden which are totally secure and perfectly maintained. The owner John is really friendly and helpful and we really appreciated the wine, shortbread, and newspaper, Molly and Leo loved the dog chews. We will be recommending this cottage to family and friends and hope to return in the very near future.

Review by: Robert and Janice Brown
Owner Response

Thanks for the great review Robert. So glad you both enjoyed your time at the cottage. You guys are welcome back any time, give us a call or email me direct and I am sure we can do something in the way of a returning guest discount.
John & Ruby


Wonderful Cottage

Date of stay: July 2015

In a perfect situation this idilic Cottage is close to St Andrews and within 15 minutes of Dundee, a perfect location for exploring the area. The cottage was first rate, immaculately clean, extremely comfortable, equipped with everything we could need and very tastefully appointed. Did I mention the beds? Ahhh perfect! John the owner was very friendly and helpful. There was a great welcome pack waiting for us, wine, a daily newspaper, chew sticks for our dogs Tilly and Paddy and sweets for our

Review by: Zai Rahman

Relaxing holiday

Date of stay: July 2015

Stayed at the Steadings week before the Open Golf with our 2 teenagers and Olly our cocker spaniel. Had a lovely relaxing stay , the cottage is very well equipped and maintained to a high standard. John was helpful and popped in to ensure everything was in order. Lovely wecoming touches .
Olly loved the enclosed garden for mooching around.Perfectly situated in the village of Leuchars, a 5min drive to St. Andrews. As a family we love this area and would definitely consider this property again.

Review by: Susan,Steven Muir & family
Owner Response

Hi Steven and Susan, Thanks for the great review. We enjoyed having you all (and Olly) stay very much. Lovely family, I am glad you all appreciated your stay in sunny St Andrews and in our cottage. You would be more than welcome to visit with us again.


Fantastic Cottage

Date of stay: July 2015

My mum regularly stays at the cottage as it has everything to offer. Beautiful accommodation (which is spotless) and idyllic, safe enclosed garden, which is perfect for families and pets. Had a fantastic one week relaxing stay. John and Ruby couldn't be any more helpful or accommodating. Highly recommend this cottage. Thank you!

Review by: Sinclair & Stevenson family
Owner Response

Thanks for the lovely review. We are glad that the you and the girls enjoyed your visit and I know that Lynn will have appreciated the relaxing break with the family. Our regular visitors and family are always welcome and I hope to see you all again.
John & Ruby


Relaxing break in lovely location

Date of stay: June 2015

Our stay was comfortable and relaxing. The accommodation was perfect, spotlessly clean with many thoughtful touches - especially the wine and treats for our dogs. Maisie and Max our 2 terriers loved the beautifully maintained gardens especially great as totally secure. The owners were extremely welcoming and helpful. This was our first visit to Scotland, I feel sure we will be back.

Review by: Carol and David
Owner Response

Thanks for the lovely review. It was a pleasure having you both and you are more than welcome to visit with us again in the future.


Wonderful cottage

Date of stay: May 2015

Very warm and inviting. John was very helpful and hospitable. The cottage has excellent facilities of a high standard. Everything there that was needed for a very comfortable stay. The beautiful garden is fully enclosed and very dog friendly. We could recommend the beach accessed via the Tentsmuir Forest as well as the beaches of St Andrews. a great week enjoyed by all.

Review by: Jan Coates & Ross Verrill
Owner Response

Thanks for the lovely review and glad that you enjoyed the cottage and garden. It was a pleasure having you both and you are more than welcome to visit with us again in the future.


perfect location as a base to tour Scotland

Date of stay: May 2015

Had a fantastic 2 weeks at The Steadings and can't talk highly enough about the experience. John was most helpful and the house has everything you would want, and of the highest quality. Hope to return in the future.

Review by: Trena Farquharson
Owner Response

Thanks for the lovely review. It was a pleasure having you both as guests and you are more than welcome to visit with us again in the future. Hope your trip back to Australia is a pleasant one.


Fab place

Date of stay: August 2014

We have had a fantastic holiday. The cottage is 5*, great beaches not far away and great spot to get to lots of places. John and his wife couldn't have been more helpful. Our 2 dogs loved it too. Lovely wildlife in the garden. Our daughter(6) loved having a 'big bed'. Will definately return to scotland and the Steadings is highly recommended for a great relaxing holiday.

Review by: The Gillespie family
Owner Response

Thanks for the fantastic review. Glad you thought it was 5*, that's the standard that we aim for.


Outstanding

Date of stay: August 2014

We had a fantastic holiday, the cottage is superb and we had a nice welcome & tour from John. The cottage has everything needed for a self catering holiday we all enjoyed it. The bonus for the kids was the free wifi, a tv each and a garden. Thank you both for the welcome gift of wine ,milk and sweets for the girls. Perfect area for visting both Dundee & St Andrews and great beaches. Holiday booked for next year, we recommend to all.

Review by: Sheila, Scott, Kirsty & Emma
Owner Response

Thanks for the lovely review guys. Glad you enjoyed the cottage and Kingdom of Fife Looking forward to seeing you all next year.


Great place to stay

Date of stay: July 2014

Fantastic cottage, everything you need a relaxing stay in Fife.

Review by: james
Owner Response

Thanks for the great review James. You can't be more positive and direct than that. You and the family welcome any time.

John & Ruby


Lovely & Relaxing, definitely what a holiday is all about...

Date of stay: July 2014

Thank you to John & Ruby for making our stay so comfortable. Cottage was immaculate, could not have stayed anywhere cleaner....fab location and beautiful surroundings. Will definitely book again - thanks again on behalf of the whole family & pumpkin xx

Review by: Jo, Steve, Ron & Moyra Turner-Prosser
Owner Response

Thanks for your kind review Joanne. You are more than welcome to visit with us, any time. Glad you had such a wonderful week in the Kingdom of Fife and that you enjoyed your stay in the Steading Cottage.

John & Ruby


A GREAT COTTAGE

Date of stay: July 2014

July 2014
Having spent a week in this property, it would be hard to find another cottage better than the Steadings, from the friendly welcome & guided tour on arrival by John explaining the workings of the appliances, to the welcome pack of biscuits, wine & milk & a first for me a newspaper. The cottage & the great garden is a credit to Ruby & Johns diligence. I would recommend this cottage to anyone

Review by: MR NIGEL HINDLE
Owner Response

Thanks for the great review Nigel. Glad you both had such a great time and enjoyed the cottage so much.

John & Ruby


Fabulous Cottage Highly Recommended

Date of stay: May 2014

Beautifully maintained cottage in a quiet position in the village of Leuchars opposite the old church.Lovely enclosed garden ideal for dogs with plenty of walks nearby.The cottage has everything you could need for a self catering holiday and all furnishings are to a very high standard.Warm welcome from very helpful owners with nice touches such as bottle of wine ,milk and biscuits for the dogs ! Thanks John for an excellent holiday.

Review by: Bob and Sue Cheetham
Owner Response

Thanks for the great review Bob. So glad you all had such a great time. You guys are welcome back any time, give us a call or email me direct and I am sure we can do something in the way of a returning guest discount.
John & Ruby


Our perfect holiday

Date of stay: April 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous week's holiday at The Steadings and can not recommend this property highly enough. From the moment we walked in and with all the little extras it was a huge success. As a family we enjoyed a fantastic property to stay in with a brilliant location. Warm, cosy, extremely comfortable & clean, lovely private garden all in all just a perfect cottage to relax and enjoy time with your loved ones. John and Ruby very helpful and caring. Also perfect for our dog Jess

Review by: Mrs M Walsh
Owner Response

Thanks for the lovely review. Ruby and I are so pleased that you all enjoyed your say. Hopefully the weather will be just as nice next time and you will all enjoy it even more!!

Ruby & John


Fantastic cottage and great owners

Date of stay: November 2013

We stayed in November, cottage lovey and warm when we arrived.
We are return guests and had another fantastic holiday. The cottage is well equipped and had everything you need. A home from home.
The cottage is well positioned for lots of walks with the dog and visiting the local attractions.
Thanks to both John and Ruby for the extra touches.
We would highly recommend the cottage to anyone.

Review by: Sharon, Graham and Bailey
Owner Response

Its always great to see returning guests. Ruby and I hope to see you both and "Bayley" again soon.


Thoroughly Enjoyable

Date of stay: July 2013

Cannot praise your holiday cottage high enough. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Great place for relaxing , with all mod cons. Kids loved it, and your walled garden was lovely. All in all can't praise you high enough. Many thanks for a really nice time.

Review by: Hugh and Anne McLernon.

A perfect holiday retreat

Date of stay: June 2013

The cottage is well positioned in a quiet area of the village. the accomodation is first class with everything you need on site. John and Ruby are very friendly and welcoming hosts. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the bed was very comfortable, The enclosed garden is well kept and is a safe place for children. This was a very pleasant place and is an ideal location to make a base for visiting Fife, Perthshire and Tayside. You will have a memorable time here.

Review by: Neil Gilbert

A wonderful place to stay.

Date of stay: June 2013

Reaching the end of our fabulous week here at The Steadings. A great cottage, extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated with a gorgeous garden to enjoy the sunshine in. The cottage has everything you need, is very spacious and has the most comfortable beds ever. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, can't recommend it highly enough.

Review by: Bob and Debbie
Owner Response

Thanks for the lovely review. It was a pleasure having you both and you are more than welcome to visit with us again in the future.


Perfect relaxing dog friendly accommodation.

Date of stay: June 2013

Just returned from our 1st visit to Scotland.John and Ruby were the perfect hosts from our welcome on arrival to also helping to make our week a fantastic experience whilst there.The cottage is in an ideal location with St Andrews only 10 minutes away with all the excellent pubs restaurants and golf courses,also ideal for venturing further down the coast to quaint fishing villages of Crail,Anstuther etc,also heading North to Dundee,Arbroath and beyond.The cottage was very well presented and had

Review by: Steve,sarah and Bella

Lovely pet friendly cottage

Date of stay: September 2012

Lovely comfortable cottage, owners live attached and made us and our dog very welcome. Garden is lovely and really secure for a dog. Not much going on in Leuchers but plenty of nice places nearby, fantastic beach at Tentsmuir which is only a couple of miles drive from the cottage. Would definately recommend.

Review by: Dawn & Brian Sunderland

Great cottage, great area & with every facility you could want

Date of stay: July 2012

The cottage is even better than it looks in the photos, spotless, very comfortable & everything you could hope for - especially a dishwasher. A beautiful, safely enclosed garden, excellent for young kids.
John is a great host, very cooperative, helpful & unobtrusive before during & after our visit.
This is a great location from which to visit Angus & the beautiful Fife coast with all the region's events & festivals.
We had a wonderful week & I highly recommend this cottage.
Many thanks.

Review by: The Brierley/Reid family

Superb

Date of stay: June 2012

Have just returned from another superb week in the cottage. Have now stayed 7 times & have rebooked for Sept.
The cottage has a lovely relaxing feel & has never disappointed. Cottage & garden are stunning & always spotless. Always receive a warm friendly welcome. Destination ideal for exploring or just enjoying a leisurely stroll along 1 of the many stunning beaches or coastal villages. Can't recommend The Steadings highly enough.
Look forward to my next visit. Oh & the dog loves it is as wel

Review by: Jillian, Anne & Kiera

Fantastic accommodation and perfect location

Date of stay: May 2012

My mum, Bailey the dog and I spent 5 superb days at The Steadings. The cottage felt like a home from home and Bailey loved the gorgeous garden.
It was a perfect location in which to explore the St Andrews area. We found lots of great walks for both humans and dogs.
We would thoroughly recommend The Steadings and will definitely be back . Thanks John

Review by: Sharon,Janet and Bailey the dog

Perfect Cottage for a Holiday

Date of stay: May 2012

We stayed for two nights in May as a group of 6 for a small birthday celebration. Firstly, let me say that the cottage was excellent. It was a nice size and 6 of us stayed there for two days without it feeling overcrowded. The cottage had everything you could ask for and it was well situated to explore the surrounding areas as well. We had a wonderful, relaxing weekend and I would definitely like to go back at some point in the future. I highly recommend this property. Thanks for the short stay!

Review by: Derek and Kirsty

Fantastic Cottage

Date of stay: March 2012

Just returned from a lovely stay at the Steadings and booked again before we left. The cottage is far more spacious than it appears in the photos on the website. We were delighted with our stay and the owners were on hand if we required any help. The cottage is immaculate and has everything you could want in a holiday cottage. We took our dogs with us and garden is safe and secure.
The Steadings is opposite a 12th Century Church and the village has excellent takeaways and a local spa for tho

Review by: The Readman Family

Our stay was perfectwe have already booked for next year.

Date of stay: August 2011

Really enjoyed our stay. The garden area with, BBQ and gazebo are amazing. The furniture was extremely comfortable for a change, especially the beds, never slept better. The cottage was beautiful and immaculately presented. It is extremely well kilted with everything we needed, Ruby and John put out a welcome pack to get us started and even put in a packet of doggy treats for Peanut our Jack Russell. They say they have a lot of return guests, I'm not surprised. Will be returning next year.

Review by: Mr gb Baldo

Very Relaxing Holiday in a home from home.

Date of stay: July 2011

Really enjoyed our week at John and Ruby's Steading, the garden is lovely as is the Steading itself. It was great to go self catering and have comfy sofas and beds instead of the usual sunken ones. Granny especially liked the big armchair. Our dog Maisie didn't want to come home. Ruby was even nice enough to do some washing for us too, thanks ruby. Having a teenager with us, the t.v's in the bedrooms were great if she got fed up with the oldies company. We will be back in future, loved it.

Review by: The Chandler Family
Owner Response

We enjoyed having you stay very much. Lovely family, I am glad the all enjoyed sunny St Andrews and your stay in our cottage. You would be more than welcome to visit with us again.


Perfect and exceeded expectations!!

Date of stay: June 2011

We stayed for 1 week in June and the cottage was excellent. From arriving and being greeted by John and Ruby we were made to feel welcome. The cottage was immacualte, well presented and beautiful. The garden was amazing and the newly finished gazebo an extra bonus. Weather great also which made it even better. Perfect location for us to visit family in Dundee, visit St Andrews and enjoy the local beaches with our dogs who were equally made welcome. Thank you for a great break. Highly recommend

Review by: Mark and Michael
Owner Response

Mark and Michael we are glad you had a great week with lovely warm weather. Its was nice to see the garden being put to such great use. You would be more than welcome to visit with us again.


Add a review

Thank you for choosing to add a review about The Steading Cottage St Andrews, we value your feedback.

Please note that we only accept reviews from people who have stayed at this property and your review must be true and must be based on your own experience. Please do not quote from other sources or on behalf of any third party.

By submitting your review you agree and confirm that your review:-

  • will be true and fair;
  • will not contain any content that is indecent, obscene or unlawful;
  • will comply with all applicable laws;
  • will not contain any defamatory, false, misleading or untrue content or any content which is abusive, threatening or offensive;
  • will not advertise or publicise any third party;
  • will not be published for payment;
  • will not contain any content which belongs to any third party

We reserve the right to remove, amend, comment on, or correct any reviews at our discretion including any that we suspect are fraudulent, contain threats, use bad language or are inappropriate in any way.

You grant Stilwell’s Cottages Direct an exclusive, world-wide right to use, broadcast, reproduce and publicly display your review (or any part of it). We may also allow third parties to use and display the review (at our discretion). You confirm that you have the right to grant such licence to us;

Owners will have the right to respond to your review.

Please complete the following.

*

*

*

Date of Stay   *

Ratings
Accommodation
Location
Holiday Experience

*

(max 500 characters) *

Anti-Spam Check Please specify the time in the drop downs as displayed on the clock.
Anti Spam Clock (Black hand)
(Red hand)

/ /    *

We would like to tell you about our own products and services that we think will be of interest to you. We may do so by post, telephone, SMS or email.

Please note, we will never pass your contact details to companies outside our group for marketing purposes and will always offer the option to unsubscribe from marketing communications at any time. Personal data you supply will be treated in accordance with the Data Protection Act 1999.

Please read the Privacy Policy on our website if you require further information about data protection.

Submit Review